Home is Where the Heart is

Hey there.

Today marks the beginning of the sixth week since I started my full time. As I settle into the new chapter of life, I'm often reminded by these lyrics in the song Home from the musical Beauty and the Beast:

"I was told,
Every day in my childhood
Even when we grow old
Home should be where the heart is
Never were words so true"

Through the numerous moves between dorms and apartments in the past few years, I've curated a mental list of things that are essential for me to turn a space into a home. My two favorite things are the inspiration wall and accessory corner. You would find some version of both if you were to visit all the places I've lived at. Like me, both of these are always changing. Each time I move, some bits get left behind while some pieces becomes part of the family.

One of the first things I do when I move into a new space is to put up my inspiration wall. I've always had the habit of collecting tickets and pamphlets with nice graphics. I also take photos everywhere I go. The main purpose of the inspiration wall is actually to provide a space to exhibit the physical reminders of places I've been or experiences I've had. It's a lot like the world map wall decal but in a collage form (and the best part is that it's free). Not everyone will have a large space available for this, another ideas of achieving the same goal is use an electronic photo frame, like the ones from AURA. Another idea is to put the collage on spaces you're already using. For example, DIY photo magnets (putting magnetic tape onto photos from Polaroids or regular prints) and arrange them on fridge doors or other magnetic surfaces.

The accessory corner is a space filled with things that brings me joy and use daily. It brightens up my day every morning when I reach for my perfume or a pair of earrings. Currently, this is located on top of my dresser but at the previous apartment, it was a shelf in the bookcase. Having a space filled with things you love can really help make place feel like home.

Like the lyrics say, "home should be where the heart is." If you fill up a space with things close to your heart, no matter where you are, it will always be home. What are some tips you have for making a place home? Let me know down in the comment section!

Cheers,

Jenn

P.S. Would you like me to potentially link products I show in photos? I can't promise I will always be able to find the products since some of them I bought overseas (i.e. I carried the MUJI organizer all the way from Tokyo even though the MUJI by my office sells it as well).

Tell me something

