What Makes You Happy?

“What makes you happy?”
What’s the first thing that comes to your mind? Mine was nice people and food. A friend of mine asked me this on our drive back from spring break. Maybe because I have a crush on him, this question has been in my mind since then.

Advertisement, social media, popular crowds on campus, there always seem to be things telling you “if you have this you’ll be happy,” but what really makes you fulfilled and happy? What is happiness? Will buying that beautiful highlighter or that super cute dress really make me happy for more than a couple hours?

Having the question on my mind, I noticed so many things that made me smile. Running into a friend I hadn’t seen for a couple of years. Listening a new song by a current favorite artist. Talking to friends for hours about nothing and everything till 1 am. Appreciating all the talented people I’ve come to know, even if I haven’t actually talked to some of them. Having this blog as a space to express myself.

Happiness seems to be everywhere, but I can’t help but wonder is it really free? Or is it built upon the materialistic gains we have previously acquired? What is happiness? Is it a form of fulfillment, a connection, or is it a secondary emotion that comes together with a physical product? Just what makes you happy?

2 comments
  1. For me happiness is something a lot more complex than just things. It’s how you live your life. Sharing Love with people, paying attention to the good in life and in others, enjoying the simple moments that bring a smile.
    I don’t know… does it make sense? It’s a great question!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I love this! I think happiness comes from small moments as well — it’s not some ultimate goal to attain. Thanks for sharing this brief message of positivity ☺️

    Liked by 1 person

Tell me something

