Ball Game

img_5771Thanks to Aon, I got the chance to watch a Cubs game at the famous Wrigley Field this Monday. I was really excited by this opportunity because 1. I’ve never watched any professional sports game live, 2. The Chicago Cubs was one of the first things I learned about when I moved here, 3. we got VIP box seats, which I will probably never get another chance to sit at, thanks to Aon.

img_5778

I’m basically a sports illiterate. Last time I had any contact with baseball was probably back in middle school, which was almost a decade ago. Thank goodness my coworkers were sports fans and gave me a quick Baseball 101 lesson.

Processed with VSCO with f2 preset

From the crowd cheering, to the sixth inning song and the public transit home after the game, going to a ball game really is an experience. In a way it brings the community together. When the whole stadium stood up and sang after the sixth inning or when everyone contributes to the cheer/chant, it really makes me feel like part of a community, a fandom, something. The ability a ball game can bring people together is amazing. It’s rooted in our culture, like the phrase on the Great Seal of the United States, “e pluribus unum” which translates to “out of many, one.” The tens of thousands of people that come to the stadium become unified while watching the game. Even though the Cubs ended up losing 3-2, it was great and will be a cherished memory.

img_5786

Tell me something

