Grace Street | New York City, NY

000663807

Green Tea Shaved Ice with Chopped Peanuts, Sliced Strawberries, and Mochi Bits

Address: 17 W 32nd Street, New York, NY 10001

Website: http://bygracestreet.com/

Price Range: Less than $10

I’m a sucker for cute cafes/bakery/coffee shops. I love the atmosphere and interior design of these shops. I was very happy when my friend and I found dropped by this place because his friend worked there.

Grace Street is located in NYC’s K-Town. It has the regular coffee menu, but it also serves Korean desserts like 팥빙수 (patbingsu) and 호떡 (hodduk). Patbingsu is a shaved ice dessert, like the one shown in the picture. It usually has a shaved ice base sweetened with condensed milk and topped with yummy toppings like mochi and fruit. Hodduk is a hot dessert, usually ate in the winter. It’s very similar to a donut pocket. Since I’ve not had it before, I can’t really describe it in detail.

 The setting and the menu really brought back memories of when I visited Korea back in 2014. The shop has a very comfortable vibe with wooden tables. There are several types of seating, on this wooden platform near the giant storefront window (where my friend and I sat and it has great lighting for photos on sunny days), regular tables with chairs, and sofa section. Since we went on the weekend, there were a lot of people. But I could imagine this to be a really nice study space during weekday afternoons when people are generally at work. It could also be a cute date spot for like a break after shopping around the area.

Tell me something

