A Piece on Perspective

April 27th.

I’ve always love to read articles on unfamiliar topics, from consumer protection to string theory. In my mind, this makes up for my disinterest in books. Thus, I absolutely adore TED talks. The other day I came across this article on Facebook: Aphantasia: How it feels to be blind in your mindI was ridiculously intrigued by the idea and by the end of the article I was astonished.

Basically aphantasia is the condition where you can’t visualize things in your mind, and to Blake Ross, the writer, this also apply to the other senses as well. As he describes, all day through his mind are “all narration, all the time. An infinite script of milk voice dialogue.”

I was so stunned by the idea. Perspective can be inherently so drastically different. But the difference makes cooperation between people so ideal, especially when coming up with holistic solutions to problems. We’ve learned from a young age that working with other people is essential and everyone’s point of view are different due to the background they were raised in. This article reinforces the concept of how personal one’s viewpoint is and it’s something that’s unique to everyone, much like finger prints.

The author mentioned that he was mind-blown when he found out that others actually visualize concepts and ideas in their mind. This made me think. I thought of the people who are close-minded, of the people who are against change. Maybe, like Blake, they are unaware that other people perceive the world in a different way. Maybe that’s why they cannot understand the cause for equality or the cause for social justice. But then this raises the need and importance of education, of exposure to these new information and views.

Before reading this article, I assumed that everyone discern the world in a similar manner and their previous experience alters the judgement being made. However, I now know that’s false. I shouldn’t assume anything regarding people’s perception. Even if I don’t understand at all how the other person came down to their conclusion, there’s a pathway that I can’t see. And by working with these people, I can learn and grow.

Tell me something

